30th Sitting of the Senate

2nd Session - 10th Republican Parliament

Tuesday 22 May, 2012
1:30 PM
Announcements By The President/Vice-President
Leave of Absence

The Vice President granted leave of absence to Sen. the Hon. Bhoendradatt Tewarie, Sen. the Hon. Embau Moheni, Sen. Subhas Ramkhelawan, Sen. Dr. James Armstrong and Sen. Elton Prescott, SC. Archbishop Barbara Burke, Mr. Albert Sydney and Mr. Kevin Bhagaloo were appointed to temporarily replace Sen. Moheni, Sen. Ramkhelawan and Sen. Tewarie respectively during their absence.

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer
Five Questions

Five Questions qualified for Oral Answer, of which three were deferred for two weeks. See Order Paper for details.

Private Business: Motions
Private Motion: Recognition of Presidents and Prime Ministers

The Senate resumed debate on a Private Motion moved by Sen. Corinne Baptiste-McKnight which asks that the contributions of all who served in the offices of President and Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago be recognized. Opposition Senator Fitzgerald Hinds rose to initiate today’s debate, followed by contributions by Independent Senator Basharat Ali and Temporary Government Senator Jamal Mohammed, who made his maiden contribution. Further contribution to the debate was made by Opposition Senator Faris Al-Rawi, debate was then suspended.

The Senate adjourned to Wednesday May 23, 2012 at 1:30 p.m.

The Senate adjourned to Wednesday May 23, 2012 at 1:30 p.m. at which time the Senate intends to resume debate on the Children Bill, 2012 and the Regional Health Authorities (Amendment) Bill, 2011. The sitting adjourned at 4:30 p.m.