House of Representatives


No Confidence in the Attorney General

House of Representatives - 3rd Session - 10th Republican Parliament

WHEREAS Section 76(2) of the Constitution specifies "that the Attorney General shall, subject to section 79, be responsible for the administration of legal affairs in Trinidad and Tobago and legal proceedings for and against the State";

AND WHEREAS the Attorney General participated in the presentation to Parliament of the Administration of Justice (Indictable Proceedings) Bill 2011 which contained a clause that created an amnesty for certain legal proceedings [referred to as Section 34];

AND WHEREAS the Attorney General had knowledge of and supported the Government's solemn undertaking to Parliament that no part of the Bill would be brought into force until such time as all supporting rules, administrative and physical infrastructure were in place and stakeholders consulted;

AND WHEREAS in the absence of the discharge of the said undertakings, the Attorney General had knowledge of and/or involvement in the unexpected proclamation of Section 34, thereby prematurely bringing into force an amnesty with consequences for certain legal proceedings involving certain persons; 6

AND WHEREAS earlier, the Attorney General made certain decisions in an extradition matter involving those said certain persons;

AND WHEREAS as a consequence of this series of developments there is widespread unease, anger, disappointment and a general sense of loss of confidence in the Attorney General among a large cross-section of the national population;

AND WHEREAS the Attorney General has accepted no responsibility for the improper discharge of his constitutional duties:

BE IT RESOLVED that this Honourable House express its strongest disapproval of the flagrant breach of Parliamentary trust by the Attorney General's involvement in the premature proclamation of Section 34;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Honourable House express its loss of confidence in the Attorney General and call on the Prime Minister to immediately relieve him of the portfolio of Attorney General of Trinidad and Tobago.

(By the Leader of the Opposition)

26 Oct 2012
House DebateHansard
11 speakersShow Speakers
1.The Honourable Dr. Keith Rowley [Diego Martin West] [Leader of the Opposition]
2. Dr. Roodal Moonilal [Oropouche East] [Minister of Housing, Land and Marine Affairs]
3.The Honourable Colm Imbert [Diego Martin North/East] [Opposition Member]
4.Senator Anil Roberts [D’Abadie/O’Meara] [Minister of Sport]
5.Senator the Honourable Paula Gopee-Scoon [Point Fortin] [Opposition Member]
6. Dr. Surujrattan Rambachan [Tabaquite] [Minister of Local Government]
7.Mr. Fitzgerald Jeffrey [La Brea] [Opposition Member]
8. Dr. Fuad Khan [Barataria/San Juan] [Minister of Health]
9.Senator the Honourable Dr. Amery Browne [Diego Martin Central] [Opposition Member]
10. Dr. Glenn Ramadharsingh [Caroni Central] [Minister of the People and Social Development]
11.Ms. Alicia Hospedales [Arouca/Maloney] [Opposition Member]
27 Oct 2012
House Debate (Continued)
Motion defeated: 11 for, 25 against, no abstentions.
5 speakersShow Speakers
1.Mr. Chandresh Sharma [Fyzabad] [Minister of Transport]
2.Ms. Marlene McDonald [Port-of-Spain South] [Opposition Chief Whip]
4.The Honourable Dr. Keith Rowley [Diego Martin West] [Leader of the Opposition]
5.Mr. Jack Warner [Chaguanas West] [Minister of National Security]