Category: Crown Colony Government


The membership of the Legislative Council was a total of 21: 11 – Unofficial and 10 – Official, including the Governor. Tobago is amalgamated permanently with Trinidad


Members of the single chamber Legislative Council were appointed by the Governor to represent the counties of Trinidad with one “unofficial Member” representing the Ward of Tobago.


The British decided to impose Crown Colony Government in which a resident Legislative Council under the authority of a Governor, could advise the British Government but had no effective control over the island, since British law reigned.