Quick Access


Do you support this bill?





4th Session of the 11th Parliament

The Whistleblower Protection Bill, 2018

An Act to combat corruption and other wrongdoings by encouraging and facilitating disclosures of improper conduct in the public and private sector, to protect persons making those disclosures from detrimental action, to regulate the receiving, investigating or otherwise dealing with disclosures of improper conduct and to provide for other matters connected therewith
Brought forward from the 3rd Session.
View the Bill Essentials here.

Bill No.: House of Representatives Bill 8 of 2018
Introduced in: House of Representatives
Introduced by: The Honourable Faris Al-Rawi [Attorney General]
Introduced on: 09-Apr-2018
Published in Gazette on: 12-Apr-2018, Vol. 57, No. 46
House of Representatives
09-Apr-2018 1st Reading PDF icon (66.9 kb) | Hansard PDF icon (904.0 kb)
Hon. Faris Al-Rawi, MP [San Fernando West] [Attorney General]
Gazetted Bill
Brought forward from the 3rd Session
01-May-2019 2nd Reading | Hansard PDF icon (926.7 kb)
Hon. Faris Al-Rawi, MP [San Fernando West] [Attorney General]
Dr. Roodal Moonilal, MP [Oropouche East] [Opposition Member]
Hon. Dr. Keith Rowley, MP [Diego Martin West] [Prime Minister]
Mr. Prakash Ramadhar, MP [St. Augustine] [Opposition Member]
Hon. Terrence Deyalsingh, MP [St. Joseph] [Minister of Health]
Dr. Surujrattan Rambachan, MP [Tabaquite] [Opposition Member]
Hon. Dr. Lovell Francis, MP [Moruga/Tableland] [Minister of State in the Ministry of Education]
Dr. Bhoendradatt Tewarie, MP [Caroni Central] [Opposition Member]
Hon. Maj. Gen. Edmund Dillon, MP [Point Fortin] [Minister of Housing and Urban Development]
Dr. Fuad Khan, MP [Barataria/San Juan] [Opposition Member]
Dr. Tim Gopeesingh, MP [Caroni East] [Opposition Member]
06-May-2019 2nd Reading | Hansard PDF icon (903.9 kb)
Hon. Fitzgerald Hinds, MP [Laventille West] [Minister in the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs]
Mr. Ganga Singh, MP [Chaguanas West] [Opposition Member]
Mr. Maxie Cuffie, MP [La Horquetta/Talparo] [Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Public Administration]
Mr. Rodney Charles, MP [Naparima] [Opposition Member]
Mr. Rudranath Indarsingh, MP [Couva South] [Opposition Member]
Mr. David Lee, MP [Pointe-a-Pierre] [Opposition Member]
Hon. Kamla Persad-Bissessar, SC, MP [Siparia] [Leader of the Opposition]
Hon. Stuart Young, MP [Port-of-Spain North/St. Ann's West] [Minister of National Security, Minister of Communications and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister]
Hon. Faris Al-Rawi, MP [San Fernando West] [Attorney General]
06-May-2019 Committee Stage | Hansard PDF icon (903.9 kb)
Approved without amendments
06-May-2019 Bill Defeated | Hansard PDF icon (903.9 kb)
22 voted for, 16 voted against
blog comments powered by Disqus
// ]]>