Quick Access


Do you support this bill?





3rd Session of the 11th Parliament

The Anti Gang Bill, 2017

An Act to make provision for the maintenance of public safety and order through discouraging membership of criminal gangs and the suppression of criminal gang activity and for other related matters

The Anti-Gang Bill, 2017 seeks to make provision for the suppression of associations created for unlawful or criminal purposes and for the better protection of the public. The Bill seeks to make it an offence to, inter alia, be a member of a gang, to be in possession of a bullet-proof vest, to participate in, or contribute to, the activities of a gang, to support or invite support for a gang, or to harbour or conceal gang members or recruit persons to a gang. The Bill would be inconsistent with sections 4 and 5 of the Constitution and is therefore required to be passed by a special majority of three-fifths of the members of each House.

View the Bill Essentials

Bill No.: House of Representatives Bill 23 of 2017
Introduced in: House of Representatives
Introduced by: The Honourable Faris Al-Rawi [Attorney General]
Introduced on: 01-Dec-2017
Published in Gazette on:
House of Representatives
01-Dec-2017 1st Reading PDF icon (95.9 kb) | Hansard PDF icon (677.3 kb)
Hon. Faris Al-Rawi, MP [San Fernando West] [Attorney General]
06-Dec-2017 2nd Reading | Hansard PDF icon (1,631.6 kb)
Hon. Faris Al-Rawi, MP [San Fernando West] [Attorney General]
Mr. Rodney Charles, MP [Naparima] [Opposition Member]
Hon. Fitzgerald Hinds, MP [Laventille West] [Minister in the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs]
Mr. Prakash Ramadhar, MP [St. Augustine] [Opposition Member]
Hon. Terrence Deyalsingh, MP [St. Joseph] [Minister of Health]
Hon. Kamla Persad-Bissessar, SC, MP [Siparia] [Leader of the Opposition]
Hon. Stuart Young, MP [Port-of-Spain North/St. Ann's West] [Minister in the Office of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister]
Dr. Bhoendradatt Tewarie, MP [Caroni Central] [Opposition Member]
Hon. Maj. Gen. Edmund Dillon, MP [Point Fortin] [Minister of National Security]
Dr. Fuad Khan, MP [Barataria/San Juan] [Opposition Member]
Hon. Anthony Garcia, MP [Arima] [Minister of Education]
Mr. Barry Padarath, MP [Princes Town] [Opposition Member]
Brig. Gen. Ancil Antoine, MP [D'Abadie/O'Meara] [Government Member]
Mr. Rudranath Indarsingh, MP [Couva South] [Opposition Member]
Hon. Darryl Smith, MP [Diego Martin Central] [Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs]
Hon. Dr. Lovell Francis, MP [Moruga/Tableland] [Minister of State in the Ministry of Education]
Hon. Randall Mitchell, MP [San Fernando East] [Minister of Housing and Urban Development]
Mrs. Glenda Jennings-Smith, MP [Toco/Sangre Grande] [Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of National Security]
Hon. Shamfa Cudjoe, MP [Tobago West] [Minister of Tourism]
Hon. Dr. Keith Rowley, MP [Diego Martin West] [Prime Minister]
Hon. Faris Al-Rawi, MP [San Fernando West] [Attorney General]
06-Dec-2017 Committee Stage | Hansard PDF icon (1,631.6 kb)
amendments made in the House of Representatives
07-Dec-2017 Bill Defeated | Hansard PDF icon (1,631.6 kb)
Division at 3rd Reading: 21 for, 12 against, one abstention.
blog comments powered by Disqus
// ]]>