Quick Access

Speaker of the House

The Honourable Bridgid Annisette-George, MP


Mrs. Bridgid Annisette-George first entered Parliament as a Senator and Attorney General on November 8, 2007 and thus became the third woman to hold this post in the history of Trinidad and Tobago, following Mrs. Kamla Persad-Bissessar and Mrs. Glenda Morean-Phillip. She was elected Speaker of the House of the 11th Parliament on September 23, 2015.

An alumnus of St. Joseph's Convent, Port-of-Spain, Mrs. Annisette-George is also a graduate of the University of the West Indies, having obtained her Bachelor of Law from that institution in 1981. Before taking up the portfolio of Attorney General, Mrs. Annisette-George was the sole practitioner at Messrs. G.R. Annisette & Co.

Mrs. Annisette-George has held a wide variety of positions in both the private and public sector including Commissioner of the Securities and Exchange Commission of Trinidad and Tobago (2003), Chairman of the Diego Martin Regional Corporation (1999-2003) and associate tutor/lecturer at the Hugh Wooding Law School.

She entered Parliament with some 24 years of experience as an Attorney-at-law.

Itinerary and Speeches

The Honourable Bridgid Annisette-George, MP
Speaker of the House 



  Monday November 23, 2015
Opening Remarks at the Workshop of the Public Accounts Committees of the Caribbean (PACC) - link
Hyatt Regency, Port of Spain
  Tuesday January 5, 2016
Closing Remarks and Thanks Lecture on the Oversight Committee System in the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago - link
Parliament of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
  Monday February 15, 2016
Welcome Remarks at the Parliamentary Training by the International Centre for Parliamentary Studies - link
Parliament of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
  Monday March 14, 2016
Welcome Remarks in celebration of Commonwealth Day - link
Parliament of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
  Wednesday June 1, 2016 - Friday June 3, 2016
Presentation at the ParlAmericas Annual Gathering on Gender Equality Diversifying Political Power to Build Inclusive Societies - link
Quito, Ecuador
  Monday July 4, 2016
Tribute to former Prime Minister, Patrick Manning at the 20th Sitting of the House of Representatives - 1st Session - 11th Parliament - link
Parliament of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
  Thursday July 7, 2016
Speech at the Prize Giving Ceremony for the Essay Competition "Saving Energy, Saving Our Planet" in commemoration of Commonwealth Day 2016 - link
Parliament of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
  Saturday October 1, 2016
Feature Address in Celebration of the Charitable works of the Saint Joseph Sisters of Cluny and the HaiT&T Foundation in HAITI - link
Hilton Trinidad Ballroom
  Tuesday December 13, 2016
Presentation at the Global Summit of Women Speakers on Governing Tolerance - link
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
  Monday August 14, 2017
Welcome Address at the Opening Ceremony of the 18th Biennial Conference of Presiding Officers and Clerks of the Caribbean, Americas and Atlantic Region of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association - link
Lowlands, Tobago
  Wednesday September 6, 2017
Welcome Remarks at the Opening of the ParlAmericas Workshop on Strengthening Accountability through Fiscal Transparency Practiceslink
Port-of-Spain, Trinidad
  Tuesday October 31, 2017
Opening Remarks at the Third Meeting of the CARIFORUM-EU Parliamentary Committee under the CARIFORUM - EU Economic Partnership Agreement
Hyatt Regency Hotel, Port-of-Spain - link
  Tuesday May 22, 2018 - Thursday May 24, 2018
Welcome Address at the 10th Gathering of the ParlAmericas Parliamentary Network for Gender Equality Gender Responsive Climate Action
Hyatt Regency Hotel, Port-of-Spain - link
  Sunday July 1, 2018
Feature Address at the Trinidad and Tobago Association of Psychologists Annual Social
La Boucan, Hilton Hotel - link
  Friday September 21, 2018
Presentation at the Climate Change Leadership Academy Programme United Nations Information Center for the Caribbean Area, Trinidad and Tobago - link
  Wednesday February 2, 2022
Presentation to the OAS Permanent Council - link


// ]]>