Quick Access

House of Representatives


Summary of the 44th Sitting of the 4th Session of the 11th Republican Parliament
(Friday September 20, 2019 at 1:30 PM)

Related Documents

Announcements By The Speaker/Deputy Speaker

  • Leave of absence: Leave of absence was granted to Hon. Dr. Nyan Gadsby-Dolly, MP for St. Ann's East and Ms. Marlene McDonald, MP for Port of Spain South, from today's Sitting of the House.
    Contributions by: Hon. Bridgid Annisette-George, MP [Speaker of the House]

  • Introduction of Private Member's Bill: The Speaker announced that leave will be granted later in the proceedings for the Leader of the Opposition to introduce the Sedition Repeal Bill, 2019.
    Contributions by: Hon. Bridgid Annisette-George, MP [Speaker of the House]


Presentation Of Reports From Select Committees

Questions To Ministers: Oral Answer

Requests For Leave To Move The Adjournment Of The House On Definite Matters Of Urgent Public Importance

  • One Request: Dr. Tim Gopeesingh, MP for Caroni East, made request for leave to move the adjournment of the House on a definite matter of urgent public importance, namely, the ongoing criminal activity at the Eric Williams Sciences Complex. The Speaker was not satisfied that this matter qualified under this Standing Order.
    Contributions by: Dr. Tim Gopeesingh, MP [Caroni East] [Opposition Member], , MP

Introduction Of Bills

  • The Government Savings Bonds (Amendment) Bill, 2019: The Minister of Finance moved that the next stage of the Bill be taken later in the proceedings. This motion was approved.
    Contributions by: Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Diego Martin North/East] [Minister of Finance]

Motions Relating To The Business Or Sittings Of The House And Moved By A Minister Or Parliamentary Secretary

  • Bills carried over to 5th Session: The Leader of Government Business moved that the progress of 13 Bills in the 4th Session be resumed in the 5th Session. These Bills are The Urban and Regional Planning Profession Bill, 2019, The Supplemental Police (Amendment) Bill, 2019, The Miscellaneous Provisions (Law Enforcement Officers) Bill, 2019, The Miscellaneous Provisions (Local Government Reform) Bill, 2019, The Private Security Industry Bill, 2019, The Cybercrime Bill, 2017, The Gambling (Gaming and Betting) Control Bill, 2016, The Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters Bill, 2018, The Tax Information Exchange Agreements Bill, 2018, The Income Tax (Amendment) Bill, 2019, The Constitution (Amendment) (Tobago Self-Government) Bill, 2018, The National Statistical Institute of Trinidad and Tobago Bill, 2018 and The Trinidad and Tobago Revenue Authority Bill, 2018. The motion was carried.
    Contributions by: Hon. Camille Robinson-Regis, MP [Arouca/Maloney] [Minister of Planning and Development]

Government Business: Bills Second Reading

Statements By Ministers

  • Result of RFP for Sale of Pointe-a-Pierre Refinery: The Minister of Finance made a Statement on the results of the Requests for Proposals for the sale of the Pointe-a-Pierre refinery.
    Contributions by: Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Diego Martin North/East] [Minister of Finance]

Government Business: Bills Second Reading

Private Business: Motions

  • Leave for the Introduction of the Sedition (Repeal) Bill, 2019: The Leader of the Opposition, Hon. Kamla Persad-Bissessar, S.C., MP, moved a motion calling on the House to grant leave for the introduction of a Private Membersí Bill entitled The Sedition (Repeal) Bill, 2019. Hon. Fitzgerald Hinds, MP, responded. With 15 votes for, 20 votes against and no abstentions, the motion was not approved.
    Contributions by: Hon. Kamla Persad-Bissessar, SC, MP [Siparia] [Leader of the Opposition], Hon. Fitzgerald Hinds, MP [Laventille West] [Minister in the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs]

Matter On The Adjournment

  • One Matter: Dr. Surujrattan Rambachan, MP for Tabaquite, raised a matter on the adjournment regarding the certification of local party boats and the threat it poses to public safety. The Minister of National Security and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister responded.
    Contributions by: Dr. Surujrattan Rambachan, MP [Tabaquite] [Opposition Member], Hon. Stuart Young, MP [Port-of-Spain North/St. Ann's West] [Minister of National Security and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister]


  • The House adjourned to a date to be fixed: The House brought greetings to the nation on the celebration of Republic Day. The Sitting concluded at 8:00 p.m. The House adjourned to a date to be fixed.
    Contributions by: Hon. Dr. Lovell Francis, MP [Moruga/Tableland] [Minister of State in the Ministry of Education], Mr. Fazal Karim, MP [Chaguanas East] [Opposition Member], Mr. Esmond Forde, MP [Tunapuna] [Deputy Speaker]
// ]]>