Quick Access



3rd Session of the 8th Republican Parliament

Private Motion - Recovery of Funds used for the Advertising and Promotion of Police Service Legislation

WHEREAS the Government of Trinidad and Tobago has recently spent in excess of 1.9 million dollars on an advertising campaign to persuade the general public to put pressure on Members of Parliament to support three Bills (viz.: the Police Service Reform Bill, 2004, the Police Complaints Authority Bill, 2004, and the Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2004).

AND WHEREAS the objective of this advertising campaign was clearly political in that it was designed with the end in mind being that UNC Members of Parliament would be pressured directly or indirectly by their constituents to support the said Bills.

AND WHEREAS it has never been contemplated that public funds lawfully made available for use by the Government of Trinidad and Tobago ought to be used by the Government to further its effective political agenda; i.e., to secure by intimidation, pressure or otherwise the vote of Opposition Members of Parliament to pass any Bills;

AND WHEREAS the said advertisements accordingly may constitute contempt of the Parliament.

BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that this House condemns the use of State funds for party political purposes by the Government of Trinidad and Tobago;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this House recommends to the Government that steps be taken to have all those persons responsible for ordering and/or allowing the use of State Funds for the said advertisements repay same to the Treasury forthwith failing which this debt shall attach to their persons and property jointly and severally and be enforceable in the same way as if it were a judgement enforceable by the High Court of Justice.

(By Senator Robin Montano)

The Motion lapsed upon the prorogation of the 3rd Session of the 8th Parliament on 8 September 2005.
First Debated: 25-Jan-2005
Speakers in the:
25-Jan-2005 Senate Debate - Day 1 | Hansard PDF icon (159.9 kb)
Sen. Robin Montano [Opposition Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Dr. Lenny Saith [Minister of Public Administration and Information]
Sen. Dr. Eastlyn McKenzie [Independent Senator]
Sen. Roy Augustus [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Prof. Kenneth Ramchand [Independent Senator]
22-Mar-2005 Senate Debate - Day 2 | Hansard PDF icon (212.8 kb)
Sen. the Hon. Rennie Dumas [Minister of Local Government]
Sen. Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan [Opposition Senator]
26-Apr-2005 Senate Debate - Day 3 | Hansard PDF icon (175.6 kb)
Sen. Wade Mark [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Prof. Ramesh Deosaran [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Mustapha Abdul-Hamid [Minister of Social Development]
24-May-2005 Senate Debate - Day 4 | Hansard PDF icon (184.1 kb)
Sen. the Hon. Mustapha Abdul-Hamid [Minister of Science, Technology and Tertiary Education]
Sen. Basharat Ali [Independent Senator]
Sen. Dr. Jennifer Kernahan [Opposition Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Conrad Enill [Minister in the Ministry of Finance]
Sen. Dana Seetahal [Independent Senator]
// ]]>