Quick Access



2nd Session of the 11th Republican Parliament

Amend the Legislative Retirement Allowances Act

WHEREAS Trinidad and Tobago is a signatory since 1970 to the 1958 ILO Convention C111, on discrimination in respect of Employment and Occupation;

AND WHEREAS the principle of the elimination of all forms of discrimination in the workplace is an established policy position of the Government of Trinidad and Tobago;

AND WHEREAS Senators without portfolio in the Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago, perform all the functions of legislators in discharging their Parliamentary obligations;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislative Retirement Allowances Act Chapter 2.03, be amended to include all Senators within the definition of legislators;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Senate call upon the Government to present the required legislative amendment to the Parliament before the end of the Second Session (2016-2017).

(By Senator Dr. Dhanayshar Mahabir)

First Debated: 31-Jan-2017
Speakers in the:
31-Jan-2017 Senate Debate Day 1 | Hansard PDF icon (531.9 kb)
Sen. Dr. Dhanayshar Mahabir [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Clarence Rambharat [Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries]
Sen. Raphael Cumberbatch [Opposition Senator (Temporary)]
Sen. Wayne Sturge [Opposition Senator]
Sen. David Small [Independent Senator]
Sen. Khadijah Ameen [Opposition Senator]
Sen. Melissa Ramkissoon [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Jennifer Baptiste-Primus [Minister of Labour and Small Enterprise Development]
14-Feb-2017 Senate Debate Day 2 | Hansard PDF icon (461.4 kb)
Sen. Sophia Chote, SC [Independent Senator]
Sen. the Hon. Paula Gopee-Scoon [Minister of Trade and Industry]
Sen. H.R. Ian Roach [Independent Senator]
Sen. Foster Cummings [Government Senator]
Sen. Stephen Creese [Independent Senator]
Sen. Dr. Dhanayshar Mahabir [Independent Senator]
// ]]>