Quick Access

House of Representatives


3rd Session of the 9th Republican Parliament

Affirm the Elections and Boundaries Commission Order, 2009

WHEREAS under section 71 of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (hereinafter referred to as "the Constitution") there is established an Elections and Boundaries Commission (hereinafter referred to as "the Commission"):

AND WHEREAS under section 72(1) of the Constitution the Commission is charged, inter alia, with the review of the number and boundaries of the constituencies into which Trinidad and Tobago is divided:

AND WHEREAS in accordance with section 72(1)(a) of the Constitution, the Commission on the 30th day of April, 2009 submitted to the Honourable Prime Minister and the Honourable Speaker of the House of Representatives a report in which it recommended that Trinidad should be divided into thirty-nine constituencies the boundaries whereof are delineated in Appendix "D" to the said report and Tobago should remain divided into two constituencies:

AND WHEREAS it is provided by section 72(3) of the Constitution that as soon as may be after the Commission has submitted a report under the said section 72(1)(a) the Minister, designated by the Prime Minister for this purpose, shall lay before the House of Representatives for its approval the Draft Order by the President for giving effect, whether with or without modifications, to the recommendations contained in the report:

BE IT RESOLVED that the Draft Order entitled "The Elections and Boundaries Commission Order, 2009" be affirmed.

(By the Honourable Prime Minister)

First Debated: 05-Feb-2010
Approved on: 5-Feb-2010
Speakers in the:
House of Representatives
05-Feb-2010 House Debate | Hansard PDF icon (626.9 kb)
Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Diego Martin North/East] [Minister of Works and Transport]
Mr. Subhas Panday, MP [Princes Town North] [Opposition Member]
Hon. Kennedy Swaratsingh, MP [St. Joseph] [Minister of Public Administration]
Mr. Harry Partap, MP [Cumuto/Manzanilla] [Opposition Member]
Hon. Gary Hunt, MP [Port-of-Spain North/St. Ann's West] [Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs]
Hon. Joseph Ross, MP [Barataria/San Juan] [Minister of Tourism]
Hon. Colm Imbert, MP [Diego Martin North/East] [Minister of Works and Transport]
// ]]>